First Newsletter – Hannah is in Ukraine

Okay, our first official newsletter… Faraway Place is up and running.  Hannah is in Ukraine at the orphanage we visited this past summer.   She has gone there to tell Dima (the boy we wanted to adopt and could not because I am a single mom) that we have not abandoned him and will be there to get him sometime in 2011.  I have not heard from her since her arrival on 12/30 and I am crazy with worry but confident in our Lord; He’s got her back!  She is blessed to be with our kids and they are blessed to have her there. 

Lake Brantley, “Faraway Place Club,” raised enough money doing fund raisers to buy winter gloves for every child at the orphanage.  Wow, teens giving back to teens, you gotta love that. 
Lake Brantley Faraway Place Club
As I sit here typing, my mind races with anticipation for Hannah to be home and for me to hear her AMAZING stories.  Mostly, will Dima want to be with us?  When we get there will the others trust enough to live with us and learn life skills, go to school and discover the Lord?  Wow, sometimes I simply cannot breathe.  Okay, I am going to my happy place (Hannah’s smile).
Hannah and Dima
I have a meeting tomorrow at FBAS… they believe in the goals of Faraway Place and have agreed to help us achieve Gods’ desires with respect to our mission.  Our Silent Auction will be held at their facility sometime at the end of April or begining of May. Cory, pray for him, he answered our cry for help and has a vision unobstructed by politics and instead rooted in God’s love.  Faraway Place is blessed to have such an AWESOME church and congregation involved in sharing the Gospel of the Lord while providing safe haven and love for teens that would otherwise never stand a chance at much more than surviving. 
Enough for now… love all of you and I will share more soon.  Keep looking up, Michelle
3 responses

  1. We have been praying for Hannah each day of her trip. The other day Lexi gave me a little package (a piece of lined paper, folded up and wrapped up in scotch tape) and told me it was for the kids in Ukraine. It contains all of the money she has been saving. She then convinced both of her sisters to donate as well. You have the support of all ages!Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God. Matt 5:8

  2. I love you both))) Im praying for Hannah. She is in a God's hands And He will bring her back home soon))) She is with kids and she is having good time there))) Im very proud of my little sister)))) She is doing things for God's glory!!!!

Leave a Reply

